Just Do It

I love the way Nike put it.. “Just Do It”. I am always in a position where I wanted to do something now, but I can’t seem to start anything. The problem with having too many adrenaline running in your veins upon that thought of a great idea is that, you are putting too much thought on it. Being an almost plan-ahead guy I am, I always love to start with planning. I don’t like to drive if I don’t have anywhere planned to go.. I don’t do coding if I’m not sure of how the end product will look like. I always choose to start with ERD rather than just go create tables and fields. I love to plan ahead, but I realize that not everything is better off to start with too much planning. I mean, not entirely having any plan is bad, undoubtedly.

For example, I was about to write HTML5 code for a web application interface. I had it my mind of how the UX will take shape. Then I get my sketchbook and start sketching. Then a day pass and I’m still sketching. Then 2 days passed, then 3, then suddenly I realized that it has been like 2 month and I have not had a single line of code written.

What I’m trying to say is that, planning is good, but don’t put too much effort on it until it deter you from doing what you have to do now.  For a programmer like me, sometimes the planning part and the actual coding part interweave along the way. Just like the PDCA lifecyle, you plan, do, check then act and then you plan again. Planning only conceptualized the ideas, doing the real thing is what materialized the thought. So stop planning if it has taken you more that it should and do it like Nike did..

Just Do It

Leave a comment